Belgium was among the 9 countries who established the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) on July 28,1919 in Brussels.


The Belgian National Committee for Geodesy and Geophysics (BNCGG) was created shortly after 1921. The running expenses were covered until 1950 by the National Cartographic Institute and later on by the Royal Academy of Belgium, now split into "Koninklijke Vlaamse Academie van België voor Wetenschappen en Kunsten" and "Académie Royale des Sciences, des Lettres et des Beaux-Arts de Belgique".

The BNCGG played a key role in the organisation of the IXth General Assembly of the IUGG which was held in Brussels in 1951 and was participating actively to the International Geophysical Year in 1957.

National Context

Since 2001, the "Royal Academies for Science and the Arts of Belgium" (RASAB) coordinates the national and international activities for which the "Koninklijke Vlaamse Academie voor Wetenschappen en Kunsten van België" (KVAB) and the "Académie Royale des Sciences, des Lettres et des Beaux-arts de Belgique" (ARB) have a shared responsibility. The main task of RASAB is the monitoring and promotion of the activities of the 25 National Scientific Committees. The Belgian Committee for Geodesy and Geophysics is one of these National Scientific Committees.

The rules (in French or in Dutch) of the BNCGG are determined by the RASAB.